Sri Lanka Government Web Portalසිංහල අකුරු මුහුණත බාගත කිරීමதமிலெழுத்தைப் பெறவூம்
සිංහල (Sinhala)தமிழ் (Tamil)English

HomeAbout us

About Us

Members of Consultative Committee

Hon. Sarath Ekanayake The Chief Minister of Central Province

Hon. Sarath Ekanayake,
Chief Minister,
Chief Minister's Office,
Provincial Council Complex,
Hon. sunil k amarathunga Hon. Sunil Kithsiri Amarathunga,
Member of Provincial Council,
Kithsiri Sevena,
1st Lane, Sapumal Place,
Hon. nimal piyatissa Hon. Nimal Piyatissa,
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 194,
Hon. manel bandara Hon. Manel Bandara,
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 64, Lunugama,
Hon. k kanaharaj Hon. K. Kanaharaj,
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 14, Nursing Home Road,
Hon. R. Muththaiah Hon.R. Muththaiah
Member of Provincial Council
Hon. sathasivam Hon. S. Sathasiwam,
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 17/1, Bloomfield Avenue,
Upper Lake Road,
Hon. e m r bandaranayake Hon. E.M.R. Bandaranayake,
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 146, Nagolla Road,
Hon. R. Rajaram Hon R. Rajaram
Member of Provincial Council
42, Church Road
Hon. padmalal de alwis Hon. S.M. Padmalal de Alwis,
Matale Road,
Hon. g m m piyasiri Hon. G.M.M. Piyasiri,
Member of Provincial Council,
Nuwara Eliya

Hon. s sridharan Hon. S. Sridharan
Member of Provincial Council,
No. 60/3A, 4th Lane,
Soysakele, Nawalapitiya
Hon. Hidayath Saththar Hidayath Saththar
Member of Provincial Council
33, Aruppala Watta Road


Consultative Committee Meetings

Month Date
May 21
June 18
July 16
August 20
September 17
October 15
November 19
December 17

Sections & Units of the Ministry


  1. Administration
  2. Planning
  3. Education
  4. Accounts
  5. Audit


  1. Early Childhood Development unit
  2. Community Water supply unit



Main Objectives & Tasks

Our ObjectivesThe Main Objectives

  1. Quantitative and qualitative development in education and equal rights to education for everyone in Central Province as per the national and provincial policies.
  2. Establishing a local government system where people are satisfied through good governance.
  3. Proper usage and development of lands and managing of the government owned lands in the Central Province.
  4. Establishment of a system of cooperative societies with good governance and safeguarding the co-operative employees.
  5. Establishing a proper cultural environment and promoting ethics, goodness and discipline while preserving the identity of all races in the Central Province.
  6. Improving tourism and making it popular as an industry within the Province.
  7. Providing up-to-date technical instructions for development of mid country while preserving the beauty and pride.
  8. Creating a learning culture in the Central Province by giving its people the opportunity to use data and information freely and without hindrance.
  9. Promoting early childhood education in the Central Province.
  10. Uplifting living conditions of rural and estate communities of the Province by providing safe drinking water and sanitary facilities.
  11. To contribute to sustainable development in Central Province.


  1. Enforcing laws, by laws and regulations to achieve objectives of relevant subject fields.
  2. Development and management of human resources in the relevant fields.
  3. Development and management of physical resources in the relevant fields.
  4. Empowering the school education system in the Central Province for the sake of students.
  5. Strengthening the local government structure.
  6. Management of economic, social and environmental factors that affect effective use of public lands.
  7. Performing as a facilitator, consultant, assistant, coordinator and  providing guidance to enhance the co-operative entrepreneurship in the Central Province.
  8. Improving the qualitative and motivational values of employees of cooperative movement.
  9. Enhancing facilities for local and foreign tourists.
  10. Development of libraries in the province such as school libraries, Piriven libraries, departmental libraries and university libraries.
  11. Functioning as a regulatory body for preschools in the province conducted by government and private and non-governmental organizations in order to standardize them.
  12. Planning, implementing, coordinating and providing guidance for projects on water supply, sanitation, hygiene education, capacity building and environmental conservation.

Organization Structure

Organization Chart of Ministry of Road Development, Power & Energy and Housing & Construction, Sri Lanka

Departments, Units & Sections under the Ministry


  1. Department of Education
  2. Department of Local Government
  3. Department of  Land
  4. Department of Cooperative Development
  5. Department of Cultural Affairs
  6. Department of Trade, Commerce and Tourism
  7. Department of  Engineering Services
  8. Co-operative Employees Commission
  9. Library Services Board


  1. Early Childhood Development unit
  2. Community Water supply unit
  3. Vocational Training Unit
    • Mapanawathura Vocational Training Institute
    • Hurikaduwa Vocational Training Institute


  1. Administration
  2. Planning
  3. Education
  4. Accounts
  5. Audit

Cooperative Development

cooperative Development and cooperative employee commission Dept. of Cooperative Development and Cooperative Employee's Commission operate under Chief Ministry of the Central Provincial Council

Department of Education

Department of Education Provides learning opportunities for students in compulsory learning age

Department of Land

housing_construction services Holds sway over all state land in the Central Province and is responsible for the proper management of such land

Reach Us

Reach us Provincial Council Complex
Kundasale, 20168
Sri Lanka

Go to top